Daily Archives: September 16, 2014

My Writers Shelfie

This morning I got a message that I’d been tagged by the wonderful author Derek Birks to show my Writer Shelfie. So, due to a mass decoration and switch around, I admit I had to tidy said shelf in order for public viewing and here it is.

20140916_204313

 

So taking Derek’s lead, I am going to share what’s on my shelf.

I’ll start with the non books, which may leave you scratching your head. The first thing is my Russell Crowe/Maximus. I bought this for my dad while in Rome, because he was such a big fan of the film. When he died, my brothers decided it should come back to me and he guards my literature. Now for the teeth. Yes they are teeth. My daughter’s to be exact. During her teeth being remodelled with wires etc. This is the impression of the final product and should her retainer break, we have this as a mould. It is a bit gross, but I enjoy people looking at it puzzled.

Now for the books. I have a few copies of my own books, but with them is what I call my Tudor collection ranging from Philippa Gregory  to Anthea Fraser. I love Alison Weir too, but she is not on this shelf. These books helped create the seed to develop The Boleyn Effect. During Uni, I did a practise Dissertation on the media representation of Henry VIII. Yes a little was an excuse to watch The Tudors, but mainly, at that point, I believed I would do my main study on the Tudors.  I used Weir and Fraser as part of my basis on Henry’s character as well as Anne Boleyn and so created Henry Cobain and Leigh-Anne Boorman.

I also have some old books of one of my heroes James Herbert. Many of them are old editions and very well read. When I was around ten years old, I started rifling through my mother’s bookshelves and found him and Stephen King. I discovered two men who could scare me senseless and I fell in love with the books.

I do have the Twilight Saga, because I don’t mind admitting that though the films made me want to tear my eyes and hair out, the books are not that bad. I enjoyed them for what they were, the films just ruined everything.

Then there is my birthday gift from my best friend Astrid. I love Sherlock Holmes and so she bought me this special red hardback edition that is unread.

There is also my witchy books. I am a witch. Not a Wiccan, but a witch. The meaning for me personally is that I try and live my life in tune and respecting my environment, both in nature and society. I do and can cast spells, but nothing really major. Mostly potions from stuff grown in the garden for colds etc. All pretty normal and none of this dancing naked under the moond, because one: it’s damn cold and two: my neighbours don’t really need to see my body dancing around.

Finally, Sharon Bolton’s books which are my favourite crime books of all time. One is signed, which is again unread. I love the way Sharon weaves a story leaving you guessing all the way through who has done it only to slap you in the face with it in the end.

So there it is, my writer’s shelfie and I wish to tag my good friend Diem Burden and Paul Bennett