The Witch’s Daughter

The Witch’s Daughter was recommended by a work colleague and her description of the story made me cringe. I remember saying to her ‘Will I get angry?’ But something made me pick up the book and start reading, and I’m glad I did.

The story starts in modern day with Elizabeth Hawksmith, a witch who has lived for 100’s of years. Having just moved to town, she is starting to live a normal life where she can settle and not be noticed. She then catches the attention of teenage girl Tegan and a friendship is formed, but this comes at a prices. Elizabeth has an enemy who has stalked her since the start of her immortality and it’s this Gideon that she must protect Tegan from. The story then jumps back to Batchcomb in 1622 and Elizabeth tells Tegan how she came to be a witch and how she had Gideon met.

Everything about this book historically and witch wise convinced me that I would be repelled by it. So many fiction writers take this era and topic and give in to cliches, but I didn’t feel that with Paula Brackston’s work. She had done her researched it well and her knowledge on Wicca was excellent. One reviewer complained that she’d cliched by using the plague as the start of the witch trial the the lead finds herself in. I would object to that. It didn’t take much for someone to be accused of witchcraft. It was one of the easiest ways to get rid of an enemy.

The pace and readability was easy and it took only a few days to read. I didn’t want to put it down and would read the next installment. My only complaint was the final showdown between Gideon and Elizabeth felt a little rush with an abrupt ending, but nevertheless and enjoyable read that I would recommend

51yp+fJoNQL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

 

About deborahcfoulkes

I was born and bred in the Yorkshire market town of Selby, which is lucky enough to have an historic abbey church at its centre, also being a 30 minute car drive to famous York, I use every bit of that history to create new worlds. My degree is in History and English Lit, but my leaning is towards history. I have a fascination with the Tudors and I’ve been told by a University tutor, I have an unhealthy liking for Henry VIII. That said my area of expertise study wise is Matthew Hopkins and the so called witches of the 1600’s. Books have been a part of my life as far back as I can remember and I count Stephen King, James Herbert and the Brothers Grimms as my literary heroes. I have a fondness for the macabre and a weakness for the antagonist of any story. By day, I work in a public library and by night or days off, I am hitting the keys of my lovely blue laptop

Posted on May 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

