Books of the Year

Apart from writing, I’ve managed to squeeze in some reading and some from  writers that I’d not read before. So my seasonal blog focus’ on my favourite reads of 2015.

The first one  is Kate Quinn’s Mistress of Rome, because it’s one of the last that I’ve read. This was one of those books that I couldn’t put down from the first page.

51IJIpkz9dL._AA160_

Another I thoroughly enjoyed was by MJ Logue The Smoke of her Burning. My initial interest was peaked when I found out that the story was based around the battle at Selby during the English Civil War. Then I got to know the author and was asked to read it pre-release. It had all the elements of a good story. Humour, tension and bloody good characters.

51F7JOdnMFL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX324_SY324_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA346_SH20_OU02_

Conn Iggulden’s War of the Rose series was one that I started this year. Already starting book two, Iggulden’s writing just brings history and characters alive.

61H6iQDEt+L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Praetorian is another good read by SJ Turney. I love his Marius Mules series, but I think I loved this a little more. The characters were great and believable, with a lot of action. It’s definitely a book to get your teeth into.

514D9OdHTRL._SX341_BO1,204,203,200_

Ben Kane is one of my favourite authors and I enjoyed his 2015 release Eagles at War. Reading this, Kane had  created characters that left me torn between which character’s side I stood on. I love them both equally and both being on opposing ends left me conflicted. I can’t wait to read the next installment and find out where it takes me.

 

61dhd7kV3eL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

And finally there’s Stephen Lloyd Jones’ The String Diaries and Written in the Blood. I was recommended both and very much like Kate Quinn’s, I couldn’t stop reading this. The story centred around a family and their curse of being chased by an ancient shapeshifting race. From the very first page it’s fast paced and breathtaking. I loved both books and can’t wait to see if he writes a third.

 

51cj6u60ioL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This year I’ve been so privilaged to read so many new books and meet some great authors. These are just snippets of my 2015 reading.

About deborahcfoulkes

I was born and bred in the Yorkshire market town of Selby, which is lucky enough to have an historic abbey church at its centre, also being a 30 minute car drive to famous York, I use every bit of that history to create new worlds. My degree is in History and English Lit, but my leaning is towards history. I have a fascination with the Tudors and I’ve been told by a University tutor, I have an unhealthy liking for Henry VIII. That said my area of expertise study wise is Matthew Hopkins and the so called witches of the 1600’s. Books have been a part of my life as far back as I can remember and I count Stephen King, James Herbert and the Brothers Grimms as my literary heroes. I have a fondness for the macabre and a weakness for the antagonist of any story. By day, I work in a public library and by night or days off, I am hitting the keys of my lovely blue laptop

Posted on December 26, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

