Job Title Author

I’ve been writing for nearly six years now and I’ve always had issues calling myself and Author or Writer. What right do I have to call myself that. I’ve not been traditionally published so that means I’m just playing at it. Of course my confidence grew the more my books sold and I got recognition, but deep down, I was still insecure. Then something clicked this week.

I was invited to Selby Library for a local author event and there I met to other Self Published Authors called David Baker and Colin Eston. Just talking to them I came to realise that I am not alone in making the mistakes I’ve have. I also learned that feeling insecure is perfectly normal. There were lessons learned and I was able to pass on my own advice and tips.

Later that evening, I sat back and thought about it and realised this is what I do. I AM an author in my own right. My books sell and I have a readership. So my new job title is Deborah. C.Foulkes Writer.

About deborahcfoulkes

I was born and bred in the Yorkshire market town of Selby, which is lucky enough to have an historic abbey church at its centre, also being a 30 minute car drive to famous York, I use every bit of that history to create new worlds. My degree is in History and English Lit, but my leaning is towards history. I have a fascination with the Tudors and I’ve been told by a University tutor, I have an unhealthy liking for Henry VIII. That said my area of expertise study wise is Matthew Hopkins and the so called witches of the 1600’s. Books have been a part of my life as far back as I can remember and I count Stephen King, James Herbert and the Brothers Grimms as my literary heroes. I have a fondness for the macabre and a weakness for the antagonist of any story. By day, I work in a public library and by night or days off, I am hitting the keys of my lovely blue laptop

Posted on September 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

