Music Makes the Words Flow.

I know there are many writers who need to a calm atmosphere and utter silence in order to fall into the world they are creating. For me it’s different, I am very happy to write with a lot of activity around me. Silence just disturbs me and makes me jumpy. I just can’t concentrate, so I use music. I find that having a soundtrack allows me to get in the mood, whether it be a fighting or a love scene, music allows those emotions fall from my brain onto the page.

I have a wide range of music taste, but what really inspires me to write is music with a lot of drama and dynamics. Classic and rock music melded into one is one of those genres that I love. Every thing I’ve ever written as its own soundtrack and some are as wide ranging as the other. But then sometimes the work chooses the music.

When writing Immortal, what was the strangest was the need to play a lot of 80’s power ballads. I couldn’t understand it. Immortal is set in modern day and not even a hint of of the 80’s anywhere. I didn’t question it but carried on. Sometimes if the muse calls you’ve just got to get on with it.  Whereas with The Boleyn Effect, I carefully chose the music to write to. Words with lyrics that conveyed the mood of the moment. Harry Cobain is a punk fan and listens to The Undertones, so of course Teenage Kicks was a must. However, to contrast that, Leigh is a younger woman, with different tastes and when they are in the club dancing to Usher’s Scream, those lyrics fit that moment and her.

As for The Higher, I chose all classic and some rock music. I found that the epic soundtracks fitted well with the fantasy element as well as Benedictine Chants. There was a need to write to music that drove the passion inside before spilling out onto the page.

So this is how I work with music and how important it is in that process. Music that drives and stimulates passion and emotions that silence could never do. Not for me anyway. So I’m going to leave you with some examples of music that I use.

About deborahcfoulkes

I was born and bred in the Yorkshire market town of Selby, which is lucky enough to have an historic abbey church at its centre, also being a 30 minute car drive to famous York, I use every bit of that history to create new worlds. My degree is in History and English Lit, but my leaning is towards history. I have a fascination with the Tudors and I’ve been told by a University tutor, I have an unhealthy liking for Henry VIII. That said my area of expertise study wise is Matthew Hopkins and the so called witches of the 1600’s. Books have been a part of my life as far back as I can remember and I count Stephen King, James Herbert and the Brothers Grimms as my literary heroes. I have a fondness for the macabre and a weakness for the antagonist of any story. By day, I work in a public library and by night or days off, I am hitting the keys of my lovely blue laptop

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

